Quality, Responsive and Trustworthy Legal Services
We offer clients a strong work ethic combined with prompt and personalized client care.

The Live-in Girlfriend’s Income & Expenses in Alimony Cases

The Live-in Girlfriend’s Income & Expenses in Alimony Cases

The Live-in Girlfriend’s Income & Expenses in Alimony Cases By Amy A. Edwards Unlike child support, North Carolina does not use any Guidelines or formula when deciding what amount alimony should be. Instead, the judge decides whether the low-earning spouse is entitled to alimony, and if so, whether the higher-earning spouse can afford to pay it. All of these decisions are made in the discretion of the judge. If you lined up ten judges to hear the same alimony case, you would very likely have ten different rulings. This is not only frustrating for the parties, but also for attorneys who don’t have the benefit of a crystal ball. What’s the Deal with Alimony? By state law, the judge must decide what each person’s income is, and what each person’s reasonable living expenses are. The judge reviews a budget prepared by each party called a financial affidavit, about which each party testifies under oath. The financially dependent spouse must prove more reasonable living expenses than income, which is a financial shortfall. The supporting spouse tries to show expenses and income so as to avoid showing a surplus of money. In other words, the lower-earning spouse wants to show a deficit, and the higher-earning spouse wants to avoid having a surplus of money left over after paying living expenses. A financial surplus is money that can be used for paying alimony. Frequently, the expenses each party asserts are quite different from what a judge decides is reasonable. For example, a spouse who earns $26,000 per year will likely have a hard time justifying a $700 per month vehicle payment as a reasonable living expense. Courts often expect both parties to tighten their belts after a separation. The judge in that example might think the vehicle could be sold or traded in exchange for a vehicle with a $350 per month payment. In that event, the judge would credit that spouse with $350 as a reasonable vehicle payment. Why Do I Say The Girlfriend? Although alimony is payable to husbands or wives, the disparity of incomes almost always means the wife is the dependent spouse in Eastern North Carolina. Usually, the wife seeks alimony, and the husband tries to defend against paying it, or at least tries to lower the amount of it. Based on this assumption, the wife loses alimony if she resides with a boyfriend or remarries. On the...

read more

A (Very Brief) History of Women Separation and Necessaries

A (Very Brief) History of Women Separation and Necessaries

A (Very Brief) History of Women Separation and Necessaries  By Amy A. Edwards Did you ever wonder why “they might come after me” if the bill collector can’t find your ex? It is because North Carolina uses the doctrine of necessaries. When you hear about a duty of support, you think of alimony but that applies only between spouses. But when a third-party, such as a doctor or hospital, provides necessary services to a spouse, that third-party has the right to seek payment from the other spouse in certain circumstances, based on the doctrine of necessaries. This arises in both services (medical and non-medical) and goods but necessaries are frequently disputed in the context of medical care. Those services are usually expensive enough to merit the time and cost of litigating them in court. The general rule is that a third-party who provides medical services that were necessary for health and well-being of the husband or wife may seek payment from the other spouse. [FN1] The Exception to the Rule: Separation and Notice North Carolina recognizes a quirky exception to the general rule. If you and your spouse are separated when he or she receives the medical care and the provider has actual notice that you are separated, you have a defense. [FN1] In other words, current law says that just being separated isn’t legally adequate to get you off the hook for your spouse’s medical bill. The third-party provider must be put on notice that you are separated. As you might imagine, most people won’t go to the hospital and elect to mention that their spouse shouldn’t be liable for payment of the bill. People can avoid being at the mercy of the law by making their own agreement. Usually, separation agreements address this by agreeing the person who receives care must reimburse the other spouse if he or she is forced to pay it. Early Law: Wife’s Expenses The colonies brought with them British law, which at the time said that unless the wife left her husband for an unjustified reason, he was responsible for her necessary expenses, i.e., her necessaries. Technically, if a husband failed to provide for her, a wife was legally entitled to obtain what was necessary, at which time he would owe the provider of goods or services on her behalf. This assumes she was in a position to enforce those rights. But unlike a single woman,...

read more

How Are Marital Assets Valued in Court?

How Are Marital Assets Valued in Court?

How Are Marital Assets Valued in Court? By Amy A. Edwards In equitable distribution marital property cases, the court has a legal duty to identify assets and classify them as marital, separate, divisible or mixed assets (part marital and part separate). Parties are always free to stipulate or agree that assets have certain values, but if they cannot, the judge must make the decision on what each asset is worth. What Does the Law Say About Value? For marital property purposes, the value of a marital assets is fair market value, “the price which a willing buyer would pay to purchase the asset on the open market from a willing seller, with neither party being under any compulsion to complete the transaction.”[1]  The court must use the net value of marital property, meaning the fair market value minus the outstanding debt at the time the parties separate. [2] If the court finds that a property is worth the same thing as the outstanding debt, the value is zero. Courts also assign negative values to assets worth less than the outstanding debt. New vehicles often fall into this category when the down payment is not substantial. Valuing Marital Assets is Mandatory Only if an asset, or part of an asset, is marital does the court then have to make a ruling on the value of it. It sounds like common sense but if neither of the parties presents evidence to the court of the value, the court cannot just make up a value. In one case[3], a couple owned a gas station, and the business was in the husband’s name. Although the wife proved that the business was established after marriage and before the separation, she failed to offer any credible evidence on the value of the business. The court must value an asset in order for it to become a marital asset. Therefore, the court had no choice but to award the business as his separate property.  Property Appraisers The most obvious way to prove the value of an asset is by an appraiser who has special skill and experience with the asset at hand. People frequently have appraisals performed for jewelry, real estate and antiques. Often, the appraiser is hired by one or both of the parties to prepare a report for the court, to be used during the trial. Appraisers value marital property and the increases in value of separate property when the non-owner says there...

read more

Forgive and Forget: Condonation in North Carolina

Forgive and Forget: Condonation in North Carolina

Forgive and Forget: Condonation in North Carolina By Amy A. Edwards Judges have a good deal of leeway in deciding what to do about marital fault and defenses when they are proven in court. Traditional sex roles are rapidly changing in some ways but not in others, and judges react differently to the behavior that constitutes marital fault. Some think fault is very important, but others do not. Marital fault relates to alimony, not equitable distribution, which is the division of marital property. What Are the Marital Fault Grounds? A spouse commits marital fault if he or she abandons the family, commits adultery, “maliciously turns the other out of doors” or “by cruel or barbarous treatment endangers the life of the other.” If a spouse “becomes an excessive user of alcohol or drugs so as to render the condition of the other spouse intolerable and the life of that spouse burdensome” that is also marital fault. The last ground of marital fault, known as indignities, is a catchall for bad behavior generally. It occurs when a spouse “offers such indignities to the person of the other as to render his or her condition intolerable and life burdensome.” NC Gen. Stat. §50-7. Consequences of Marital Fault Marital fault is not a requirement for alimony. But if someone commits marital fault, the judge can financially penalize the person receiving or paying support. In cases of adultery, the financially-dependent spouse who cheated cannot receive alimony, and the supporting spouse who is the bread-winner must pay alimony if he or she cheats. The policy is based on the historical tradition of an innocent dependent spouse who was left financially stranded by the other, who left for greener pastures with another romantic interest, for example. What is a Defense to Marital Fault? A defense means that you can be shielded from the consequences the marital fault that you committed. A defense excuses the bad behavior (i.e., the marital fault) and gives the spouse at fault a “clean slate” legally. From our example above, if you are an adulterous supporting spouse without the legal defense of condonation, you are automatically required to pay alimony. The only remaining questions at the point is the amount of alimony to be paid, and for how long. The Defense of Condonation Condonation, condoning bad behavior, is as a defense to a spouse’s marital fault. Black’s Law Dictionary defines condonation...

read more

Checklist for Hiring a Family Law Attorney

Checklist for Hiring a Family Law Attorney

...

read more

When Does Child Support Stop in North Carolina?

When Does Child Support Stop in North Carolina?

When Does Child Support Stop in North Carolina? By Amy A. Edwards Each state specifies the age at which child support ends. In North Carolina, NC Gen. Stat. §50-13.4 requires child support to be paid until a child is age 18 or graduates from high school, whichever is longer. Support may end sooner than that if a child becomes emancipated. There is a legal proceeding that allows a minor who is at least 16 years old to file seek a decree of emancipation from a judge. But most commonly, a minor is automatically emancipated when he or she marries or joins the military. Unless parents have agreed otherwise in a separation agreement or consent order, if parents have multiple children, support does not automatically drop by 50% when another child graduates or reaches 18, etc. Instead, child support is recalculated based on the child support guidelines and the remaining child or children if a parent files a motion to modify support. Ages 18 to 20 Support may last longer than age 18 or graduation if the 18-year-old is still in school after reaching age 18 but hasn’t graduated. In that event, child support continues until he or she quits high school, fails to attend school on a regular basis or make satisfactory academic progress towards graduation, or reaches age 20, whichever is first. “If the child is enrolled in a cooperative innovative high school program . . . then payments shall terminate when the child completes his or her fourth year of enrollment or when the child reaches the age of 18, whichever occurs later.” NC Gen. Stat. §50-13.4(c)(3). Past Due Support There is one big exception to the general rule. If a parent owes outstanding child support when the payments would usually terminate, the payments will continue in the same amount, to be applied to the outstanding support until the balance is satisfied.  Support from Grandparents When a minor has a baby, the grandparents have primary liability for the support of the grandchild. However, even though the parent of the baby is a minor child, he or she is secondarily liable for the baby’s support. The court determines the proper share of financial responsibility for the baby. A grandparent’s responsibility for child support ends for both the parent and the grandchild when the minor parent reaches the age of 18 or becomes emancipated. If only one of the baby’s parents was a minor...

read more